Both Wilhelm and Ruth Brückner have an abiding love for the viola. Both made a viola for their master's exam and both work, for the most part, with the models they have developed in the many years of expierience.

Our own model:

It has a very wide breast and lower section in comparison with other models.

Already 1960, Wilhelm Brückner started first experiments to obtain a richer, more beautiful and very adaptable viola sound. At first the instruments became wider in the lower section only, later in the breast, too. The position of the bassbar and the soundpost as well as the rib height have been changed and also the width of the bridge has been adapted. Around 1972, the so-called "Urmutter" had been built, a viola, that had been played by Professor Alfred Lipka, Berlin, since 1975. Now this viola is in possession of Sophia Reuter, the viola soloist of the German State Opera, Berlin.

Brückner violas "produce a characteristical dark Sound on the C string, the G and D strings have more of a baritone sense to them whereas the A string is characterized through a sparkling Tenor Quality." (Prof. Lipka). They are built in different types and variable length of the body, but are very easily playable in every size. Brückner violas have high carrying power and a good ease of resonance, are open, flexible and beautiful sounding.

Our model has been and will be improved and refined steadily. Each instrument is made extremely accurately of selected, very old woods and is, not least, distingtively by its varnishing and its respective unique character.

Die besondere Liebe von Wilhelm und Ruth Brückner gilt der Bratsche. Beide fertigten zur Meisterprüfung eine Viola und arbeiten heute größtenteils nach ihren eigenen Modellen.

Unser eigenes Modell:

Diese ist im Vergleich zu anderen Modellen in der Brust und im unteren Teil sehr breit.

Bereits 1960 begann Wilhelm Brückner mit den ersten Experimenten, um einen volleren, schöneren und sehr modulationsfähigen Bratschenton zu erreichen. Anfangs wurden die Instrumente nur unten breiter, später auch in der Brust, die Lage des Baßbalkens und die Stellung der Stimme, die Zargenhöhe änderte sich, auch der Steg wurde in seiner Breite angepaßt. Ungefähr 1972 wurde die sogenannte "Urmutter" gebaut, diese Viola wurde seit 1975 von Professor Alfred Lipka, Berlin, gespielt. Jetzt befindet sich diese Bratsche im Besitz von Sophia Reuter, der Solobratscherin der Deutschen Staatsoper Berlin.

Brückner-Bratschen klingen "schwarz auf der C-Saite, in der Mittellage baritonal und besitzen auf der A-Saite tenoralen Glanz" (Prof. Lipka). Sie werden in mehreren Varianten und Korpuslängen gebaut, sind aber in jeder Größe extrem leicht spielbar. Brückner-Bratschen sind sehr tragfähig, offen, flexibel, klangschön und sprechen sehr leicht an.

An der Verbesserung und Verfeinerung des Modells wurde und wird ständig weitergearbeitet. Jedes Instrument wird aus ausgesuchten, sehr alten Hölzern äußerst sorgfältig gefertigt und ist nicht zuletzt durch die Lackierung und seinem jeweiligen "Charakter" unverwechselbar.