The Violinmakers

Wilhelm Brückner (master violinmaker)


Born in 1932 in Erfurt, I originally wanted to become a forester, but started being apprenticed to master violinmaker Willi Dölling in Markneukirchen at the age of 15. The working style there was accurately, but first and foremost fast. After my journeyman's examination in 1951, I worked for master violinmaker Willi Lindörfer in Weimar. Work pace was irrelevant to him, rather quality of new instruments and especially of restorations had absolute priority.

In 1956, I passed my examination for the master craftsman's diploma in violin making. I have been working free-lance respective self-employed since 1960. In the beginning I mainly was involved with restoration and repairs. In 1972 I won the gold medal at the polish violin making contest "Henryk Wieniawski". Thereupon I dedicated myself more and more to the the construction of new bowed stringed instruments, especially violas. Making new violas still is my burning passion.

I am a member of the German Violinmakers Association and the International Viola Society.

On the occasion of my 80th birthday, the author Stefan Sethe published the book "Violinmaking in the reflection of time - the Erfurt violinmaker family Brückner is bringing wood to life since five generations" in German. The shortened, slightly altered special edition can be found here as festschrift.


Ruth Brückner (master violinmaker)


I was born in Erfurt in 1962 growing up among violins, violas and cellos.

At the age of 7 I began playing violin, but later switched to viola because its sound and character are more suitable to mine. Almost I would have begun studying, but decided to become a violinmaker after the Abitur certificate. Unfortunately, it was not possible to me to be apprenticed to a master violinmaker in Markneukirchen, so I was apprenticed to my father in 1983, passed my journeyman's exam and later the master's examinations in Markneukirchen in 1990.

Since then I have been working together with my father in our shared workshop. In addition to repairs and restorations, I principially dedicate myself to the construction of new violas in all sizes and meanwhile according to plans of my own model.

Of course I still play viola, now in the Academic Orchestra Erfurt. I am also a member of the German Violinmakers Association and the National Association of Artisans.


Christoph Brückner (journeyman violinmaker)


I was born in Erfurt in 1982 and, in the same way as my mother, spent the most time of my childhood with violins and violas in our workshop.

After being on some wrong tracks - because after my Abitur examinations I studied media technology at the Technical University of Ilmenau at first and afterwards law, modern history and philosophy at the Friedrich Schiller University, Jena - I decided to become a violinmaker at the end of 2007.

My three years training took place in both the homelike workshop, where workmanship was given to me, and the professional school in Klingenthal for the theoretical part. I have been working in our family business since passing my journeyman's examination in July of 2011. My special preference is, how could it be otherwise, the viola.

I am fascinated by the posibilities of sound design, on the one hand by constructional modifications but also by position of soundpost and bridge and the influence of the different strings and the bow. Already my first viola found a enthusiastic prominent owner: it is played by Gerd Grötschel, the solo violist of the Hessian Broadcasting Symphonic Orchestra and the Festival Orchestra Bayreuth.

Die Geigenbauer

Wilhelm Brückner (Geigenbaumeister)


Geboren 1932 in Erfurt wollte ich ursprünglich Förster werden, begann aber dann mit 15 Jahren eine Geigenbaulehre bei Meister Willi Dölling in Markneukirchen. Dort wurde präzise, jedoch vor allem schnell gearbeitet. Nach der Gesellenprüfung 1951 arbeitete ich dann in Weimar bei Geigenbaumeister Willi Lindörfer. Bei ihm spielte Zeit keine Rolle, die Qualität der neuen Instrumente und insbesondere der Restaurierungen hatte absoluten Vorrang.

1956 bestand ich die Meisterprüfung u. seit 1960 bin ich selbständig bzw. freiberuflich tätig. Anfangs beschäftigten mich vorwiegend Restaurierungen u. Reparaturen. 1972 gewann ich die Goldmedaille beim Internationalen Geigenbauwettbewerb „Henryk Wieniawski“ Polen. Daraufhin widmete ich mich zunehmend dem Neubau, insbesondere von Bratschen. Die neuen Bratschen sind nach wie vor meine große Liebe!

Ich bin Mitglied im Verband Deutscher Geigenbauer und in der Internationalen Viola-Gesellschaft.

Anlässlich meines 80. Geburtstages, veröffentlichte der Autor Stefan Sethe 2012 das Buch "Geigenbau im Spiegel der Zeiten - Die Erfurter Geigenbauerfamilie Brückner erweckt seit fünf Generationen Holz zum Leben". Das gekürzte, leicht variierte Sonderexemplar ist hier als Festschrift abrufbar.


Ruth Brückner (Geigenbaumeisterin)


Ich wurde 1962 in Erfurt geboren und wuchs zwischen Geigen, Bratschen und Celli auf.

Mit 7 Jahren begann ich Geige zu spielen, stieg aber dann auf Bratsche um, da ihr Klang und ihr Charakter wesentlich besser zu mir passen. Fast hätte ich Musik studiert, doch nach dem Abitur entschloss ich mich, Geigenbauer zu werden. Eine Lehre bei einem Meister in Markneukirchen war leider nicht möglich, also lernte ich ab 1981 bei meinem Vater, legte 1983 die Gesellenprüfung ab und bestand 1990 die Meisterprüfung in Markneukirchen.

Seitdem arbeite ich zusammen mit meinem Vater in der gemeinsamen Werkstatt. Neben Reparaturen und Restaurierungen widme auch ich mich hauptsächlich dem Bau neuer Bratschen in allen Größen und inzwischen nach meinem eigenen Modell.

Bratsche spiele ich natürlich immer noch, jetzt im Akademischen Orchester Erfurt. Ich bin ebenfalls im Verband Deutscher Geigenbauer und Mitglied des Bundesverbandes Kunsthandwerk.


Christoph Brückner (Geigenbauergeselle)


Geboren wurde ich 1982 in Erfurt und wie es auch schon bei meiner Mutter der Fall war, verbrachte ich einen Großteil meiner Kindheit mit Geigen und Bratschen in unserer Werkstatt.

Nach mehreren Irrwegen - denn nach meinem Abitur studierte ich zuerst Medientechnologie an der Technischen Universität Ilmenau und anschließend an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena Rechtswissenschaften, Neuere Geschichte sowie Philosophie- entschloss ich mich zum Jahreswechsel 2007/2008 Geigenbauer werden zu wollen.

Meine dreijährige Lehrzeit fand sowohl im heimischen Familienbetrieb, wo mir die handwerklichen Fähigkeiten vermittelt wurden, als auch an der Berufsschule in Klingenthal für den theoretischen Teil der Ausbildung statt. Seit meiner Gesellenprüfung im Juli 2011 arbeite ich in unserem Familienbetrieb. Meine besondere Vorliebe gilt, wie sollte es auch anders sein, der Bratsche.

Die Möglichkeiten der Klanggestaltung, einerseits durch bauliche Veränderungen, aber auch durch die Positionierung der Stimme und des Steges und den Einfluss der unterschiedlichen Saiten und des Bogens faszinieren mich.

Bereits meine allererste Bratsche fand einen prominenten Liebhaber, sie wird von Gerd Grötschel, dem Solobratscher des Hessischen Rundfunksinfonieorchesters und des Festspielorchesters Bayreuth gespielt.